SEISMICITY, VOLCANOES, DATA AND MODELS

Session 1.1
Recent advances in the study of earthquakes, seismogenic structures and capable faults
 
Convenors of the session:
Paolo Galli (DPC) - paolo.galli@protezionecivile.it
Claudia Piromallo (INGV)claudia.piromallo@ingv.it
Luisa Valoroso (INGV)luisa.valoroso@ingv.it

  • Investigations of the Quaternary background of active faults
  • Paleoseismology and archaeoseismology
  • Characterization of capable faults for seismic microzonation studies, even in volcanic contexts
  • Revisions of historical and instrumental earthquakes and catalogues
  • Case histories of instrumental and historical seismic sequences
  • Advanced earthquake location methods, both for research and monitoring purposes
  • GPS and InSAR data for the evaluation of inter/post and coseismic deformation
  • Source modelling through the inversion of seismic, geodetic and/or other multidisciplinary datasets
  • Multidisciplinary, multiscale geophysical imaging for seismotectonic studies
  • Insights into the mechanics of earthquake and faulting form laboratory experiments
  • Rocks rheology and role of fluids in the seismogenesis: from laboratory experiments to the Earth crust
  • Insights of the Marche offshore sequence (November 2022)

Session 1.2
Volcanoes and geothermal fields

Convenors of the session:
Mimmo Palano (INGV) - mimmo.palano@ingv.it
Francesca Forni (UniMI) - francesca.forni@unimi.it

  • Geophysical imaging
  • Geochemical features
  • Petrological data
  • Field observations
  • Remote sensing observation
  • Geodetic data
  • Hyperspectral imaging
  • Volcanic unrest
  • Effusive/explosive activity
  • Models and inversion techniques
  • Monitoring
  • Hazard

Volcanoes and geothermal fields are the best-known natural expression of the Earth’s internal heat, which is mainly caused by the radioactive decay of isotopes in the mantle and the crust. The volcanic activity has played a fundamental role in the Earth’s atmosphere and life development and represents the most important source of geothermal energy. Most of our current knowledge about volcanoes and geothermal fields comes from geological, petrological, geochemical and geophysical data and observations mainly collected in the last decades. All these data, along with extensive analysis and modelling, have provided useful information about the structure and geometry of magma storage in the crust and transfer of magmas and geothermal fluids in volcanic or geothermal areas.
Moreover, contributes including both observational and theoretical studies as well as summarizing the state-of-the-art and new research directions are also welcome.

Session 1.3
Physical models for the Solid Earth and integration between modeling and data of different nature

Convenors of the session:
Anna Maria Marotta (UniMI) - anna.maria.marotta@unimi.it
Carla Braitenberg (UniTS) - berg@units.it
Barbara Orecchio (UniME) - barbara.orecchio@unime.it

Contributions recommended for this session:

  • Forward and inverse physical models of Solid Earth processes at different wavelengths and time scales
    • Surface tectonic deformation
    • Post glacial rebound
    • Mantle dynamics
    • Relative Sea level change
    • Earthquakes and the internal structure of the Earth
  • Techniques and quantitative methods for analyzing large amounts of geophysical data of different nature and at very high resolution, both terrestrial and satellite (eg. GNSS, SAR, Gravitational, Seismological, Magnetometric, thermal)
    • Rheological characterization of the crust and mantle
    • Numerical models of geomagnetic anomalies
    • Shape and size of the Earth
    • Earth's gravitational field
    • Numerical modeling of Gravimetric Anomalies
    • Observation of the Earth from Space - GNSS, InSAR
    • Surface geodetic deformation
  • Integrated analyses between physical modeling and data (natural, experimental and observational from satellite)
  • Interactions between Solid Earth processes and the Hydrosphere and the Atmosphere
  • Planetology studies regarding the internal physical processes occurring on planets, both internal and external to the solar system, are also welcome